May 2017 Newsletter

Twilight Camp began promoting with online regis-tration. Our camp and program directors are doing a wonderful job.  They had a great skit at our April Roundtable.

The District Dinner on April 11 had the highest attendance in many years. More than 150 scouts and scouters enjoyed a meal from Carrabba’s Italian Grill of Hurst and participated in the awards and recognitions. The master of ceremonies Tom Taylor introduced our Roadrunner District new logo at dinner and thanked many who gave the ideas and input. Tom also introduced Longhorn Coun-cil Scout Executive Mr. John Coyle as our honor guest. Mr. Coyler gave us an update on how is our council doing. Bill Jesse and Steve Erwin were both honored for their service as District Chair and Cub Scout Roundtable Commissioner for the past few years to the District. Spark plug awards  were presented to Jason Watts, Sharilyn Dickerson, Alexander Taylor, Tony Thompson, Jeff Kuhn, Heather Moser, and Denise Riley. Our three District Award of Merit recipients were Tom Rogers, Monica Pattillo, and Keil Hubert. Richard Sea received the Emeritus Award.

Joyce Thilges was presented with the God and Service Award from P.R.A.Y.

More than a dozen Eagle Scouts were recognized.



Kurt G. from Troop 220 was honored for Life Saving Award, and Troop 250 Eagle Scout Dalton Z. received the Glen Adam Eagle Service Projct of the Year award from the Council. These two scouts were also recognized at the Council Silver Beaver Dinner on April 25.   Many Roadrunner District members served at the Council Banquet as Wranglers, with Gloria Coyle being named the “Mother Beaver”.

Thanks to all who helped make the District Dinner and Council Banquet a success. Doc did a wonderful live auction for us. Gloria Coyle, Linda Jones, Tim Rogers, Bill Harrison, Teresa Goff, Tom and Denice Taylor, Doc, Mack Cremer, Melody Mays, Mike Cooper, Gale Follett, Bill Cooley, David Hammond, Jeff and Anita Wike, Theresa and Keil Hubert, Susan Bartlett, Kelley Nicosia, Theresa Monty, Cheryl Behm, (Life scout Trey T. and Jacob G. of troop 509), (Eagle Scouts Josh R., Austin H., Mason M. and Lane P.,) Jamie McCallum, Gerald Robinson, Walter Milligan, and Ping. Start working on your Scouting appetite for next year!

Ping Mayo

District Dinner Co-Chair Roadrunner District Activities Chair

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *